Happy November!!!

So, Halloween is over, and now comes a time for careful reflection and pondering the rest of the year – Christmas (I tried that joke at work, and nearly lost it)!     November means a lot of things to a lot of different people. For some it is a time of preparing for Thanksgiving; for others it is the crisp fall weather, attempting to sneak a little more autumn into the calendar year before winter sets in; And for others still, it is a means of raising awareness for men’s health issues.

For many authors, November is the beginning of Nanowrimo. For the uninitiated, this stands for National Novel writing Month. The goal, is to write a complete novel (about 50,000 words) over the course of 30 days. In the past, I was more of a lurker than a writer, but this year I decided to participate. My current work in progress is nearing competion, and my own curiosity over the phenomenon has been growing steadily.

So, last night, as I was finishing up my Halloween movie marathon, I signed up on the official Nanowrimo website, and began to study up on what this movement is, and how I can participate and write and edit a whole novel before the end of the month. It is a challenge, but one that I feel i can accomplish.

Using the provided paperwork, I have done the math, and figured that if I wanted to write between 5-6 days a week, I was going to have to write a little over 2,000 words per day. It is a challenge, but one that I feel I can rise to. So today, I sat down with my laptop and a cup of coffee and started to write. In my mind I had an idea for a grand opus – one that will captivate the hearts and minds of my readers.  But reality sunk in, and I realized that this process is more about showing myself that I am capable, and can write a novel.

Today, being my first day, some of my time was devoted to setting up the story – character names, biographies of the characters, as well as written. So far, I am pleased with the results. Besides information on how to self-publish, ways to track your total number of words as you go are also included. Using my new tracking form, I recorded that I have written 2,229 on my project.

So, writer’s my question to you is this: First, have you participated in Nanowrimo in the past? If so, what are your thoughts on the process? As a newbie to this particular exercise, I was wondering how difficult/easy it was to keep up with the rigors of the project. Also, writers, who is currently participating and writing their Project now: How is this years project going? Are there any surprises or challenges along the way that have caught you off guard.  As always, I look forward to hearing from you.  Good luck to all of the participants, and I look forward to seing how other people’s projects are progressing over the course of this month.

One thought on “Happy November!!!

Leave a Reply

