An Update: Some Progress has Been Made

I must apologize for the lack of updates recently. A lot has been happening in my life recently, making it a little difficult to keep up with regular posts. Business with my “day job” has been picking up considerably the last several weeks, and I sat in to help hire and train several new employees. Finally, my sister just gave birth to an adorable baby girl, so that excitement has been abound as well. But now things are finally settling down to the point where I can sit down and do some writing.

I’ve been able to keep a slow pace on my works in progress. All three have seen some level of progress in the midst of all the insanity that life has been throwing my way as of late. However, one project is actually reaching a state of completion. I am thinking a few thousand more words, and I might be finished.

Currently, it looks as though I may soon be finished with my sequel to Mademoiselle Durand and the Pirates. I have a tentative title and a couple of cover ideas that I am considering. Though neither is official yet, I thought I’d share my progress:

image

Option one

And

image

Option two

I am somewhat more partial to the look of option number two, but there are elements of option number one that I like as well. The title is pretty much set at this point, barring some unforeseen edits to the story. If anyone has any opinions on either cover, I’d love to hear what you think!

As for my Blog, I will resume more frequent updates effective immediately. I have some topics to write about and many ideas I want to research. And of course updates on the progress of my writing projects. Life is filled with work and other real world obligations, and writing is my escape from that real world. It is my vacation in a world of 40+ hour workweeks, my rest when the real world gets to be too much. And now I can get in a little more time for my escapes. I cannot wait to see where my stories lead me.

4 thoughts on “An Update: Some Progress has Been Made

  1. I also like the darker background on number one. But I need to tweak the text against the background, as I find it a little more difficult to see.

    I’m actually pretty excited about the story. It is a little bigger than I originally planned, so I have split it into two parts. The halves are a little too different from one another to be considered a single cohesive story. Hopefully this will make each part of the story better, since I can focus more on each part individually.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Firstly, many congratulations to your sister! I guess it’s a bit late in the day to offer an opinion on the covers now, but I do like the one that is in the next post. It makes me think of long adventures and sights to see. Good luck with the writing. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind words, Sarah! It is definitely an exciting time.I appreciate all feedback. The cover was difficult. I liked the look of the leather. It reminds me of old leather-bound books. And since this is the first leg of a longer journey, I liked the look of the map and compass. And given the title and plot, it felt fitting. ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

