A Review and Some Purchases

     I am a reader.  I have been ever since I read The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Jester.  It was the first time I found myself transported into the story being told. Because of Milo and his adventures, I became someone who tears through books. Even now that I am working full-time and trying to fit in writing time each day,  I always have My kindle, at the very least,  within reach. Unfortunately,  I am very lax in a key area: I am horrible at remembering to leave a review.  So,  I am  going to try and right that wrong. 

     This post has a dual purpose: to ensure that my book reviews are preserved,  and also to talk about reading a little. With all of the brouhaha  concerning  Amazon’s bizarre policing who we may or may not know,  and whether we are allowed to put a review up on a book we purchased and read,  I have decided that going forward,  I will post any reviews that fall under the sci-fi, fantasy, or steampunk heading on here,  and all book reviews on Goodreads. I want to let authors know what I thought of their work,  and would hope they would do the same for me. Shortly before this all hit the news I did place a review on Amazon for a book I purchased for the Kindle –  The Dockland Kingslayer,  by VC Remus

image

I purchased this book not knowing what to expect. I found to my great surprise and pleasure, that this novel is quite the page turner. V.C. Remus has created a world that feels alive. The conflicts between the lower class “Docklanders” and the ruling class plays a vital role throughout the story of Alistair. It is through him that we are introduced to a world of injustice. Heretics and sinners executed in public, the poverty stricken forced into servitude in the King’s army. Remus introduces a lot of ideas and history as the story progresses, and if you don’t pay attention you could very well miss some important pieces of information.

While I read this book almost compulsively, and managed to finish it within a couple of days’ time, this is by no means a book to breeze through. In order to truly appreciate the tale being woven, you must pay attention, in order to grasp the entire story. Ultimately, this is a hero’s journey, and though meets others along the way, there is always a sense of loneliness, isolation in Alistair. The author has a unique voice, combining steampunk elements of the Victorian age with touches of medieval Europe throughout, creating something that is both bleak and and beautiful. I look forward to reading more from V.C. Remus in the future.

     Overall,  it is a solid story, not overly long. Set up as the start of a series. I didn’t see any real negatives.  The only thing I did notice was there were a few times where a rather elaborate word was used,  where a more common one would suffice.  But it was not so noticeable as to be jarring or to detract from the enjoyment of the story.

     Finally,  I made a couple of purchases this weekend that I am excited to start reading (once I can get through some of my already massive reading list).  The first purchase was a copy of K.W. Jeter’s Infernal Devices. I had borrowed it ages ago,  but didn’t get to read it before I had to return it.  So I am looking forward to reading that.   The other purchase was the first five books in the Song of Ice and Fire series.  I am ashamed to admit it,  but as much as I love Game of Thrones,  I’d never read any of the books.  I intend to rectify that now that I own them.  But of course,  they will have to wait for a bit,  as I already have two lined up to be read once I finished my in process reading.

     With all of the reading and writing I will be doing in the future,  I have a feeling that I will be a busy man. And I can honestly say that I am looking forward to it.

One thought on “A Review and Some Purchases

  1. Nice review, personally been meaning to read more books as I haven’t been making enough time for it. Was recommended to read “The Circle” so that’ll probably be next on my list. I’ve followed. I’m a writer myself, and usually post short stories and poetry on my blog, as well as updates on the novel I’m working on. Fantasy, Very dark and a bit of humour is what you’ll find. Check it out if you’ve got the time. Thanks 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

